caml-list - the Caml user's mailing list
 help / Atom feed
From: EACSL Mail-Account <>
To: Thomas Schwentick <>
Subject: [Caml-list] ACKERMANN AWARD 2020: Final Call for Nominations
Date: Mon, 2 Mar 2020 12:34:22 +0100
Message-ID: <> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <>

 Final Call for Nominations

Nominations are now invited for the 2020 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS conferences,
which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a university or
equivalent institution between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2019 are eligible for nomination for the award.

The deadline for submission is 1 April 2020. Submission details follow below.

*** The Award

The 2020 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL 21, the annual conference of the EACSL, in Ljubljana, January 25-28, 2021.

The award consists of

    * a certificate,
    * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
    * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings,
    * an invitation to the winner to publish the thesis in the FoLLI subseries of Springer LNCS, and
    * financial support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

*** The Jury

The jury consists of:

  * Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
  * Michael Benedikt (Oxford University);
  * Mikolaj Bojanczyk (University of Warsaw);
  * Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
  * Prakash Panangaden (McGill University);
  * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund) , the president of EACSL;
  * Alexandra Silva, (University College London), ACM SigLog representative.
*** How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

   1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
   2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
   3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick
   4. a short CV of the candidate;
   5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chair of
the jury, Thomas Schwentick:

The e-mail should have the following subject line and text:

    * Subject: Ackermann Award 20 Submission
    * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submissions can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text.

      reply index

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-01-06 18:28 [Caml-list] ACKERMANN AWARD 2020: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Thomas Schwentick
2020-03-02 11:42 ` EACSL Mail-Account [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \ \ \ \

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

caml-list - the Caml user's mailing list

Archives are clonable: git clone --mirror

AGPL code for this site: git clone public-inbox